Qun Zhou (QZ) Sun

Director of Smart Infrastructure Data Analytics Laboratory
University of Central Florida
Email: qun.zhou@ucf.edu
Office: HEC 358
Ph: 407-823-3284

Positions:
– Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, UCF
– Courtesy Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science, UCF

Professional Activities:
– Associate Editor, IEEE Transactions on Smart Grid
– Technical Committee Program Chair, IEEE Power and Energy Society (PES) Smart Buildings, Loads, and Customer Systems (SBLC) Committee

Education:
Ph.D., Electrical Engineering, Iowa State University, 2011
B.S., Electrical Engineering, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, 2007

Team Members

Samy Faddel

Postdoctoral Fellow

Education: Ph.D., Electrical Engineering, Florida International University, 2019
Research: Grid-interactive buildings, building flexibility analysis, and demand response

Samy.Faddel@ucf.edu

Muhammad Rehan

Postdoctoral Fellow (co-advised with Dr. Zhihua Qu)

Education: Ph.D., Engineering Physics, Embry Riddle Aeronautical University, 2018
Research: Building fault detection, diagnostics and prognostics through probabilistic data analytics, work order correlation and root cause identification

muhammad.rehan@ucf.edu

Guanyu Tian

Ph.D. Student, Electrical Engineering

Education: M.S., Electrical Engineering, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 2016
Research: Commercial building modeling and optimization, demand response

tiang@knights.ucf.edu

Hossein Panamtash

Ph.D. student, Electrical Engineering

Education: B.S., Electrical Engineering, University of Tehran, 2017
Research: Solar power forecasting, solar system integration and optimization

h.panamtash@knights.ucf.edu

Xipeng Jin

Ph.D. student, Electrical Engineering

Education: B.S., Physics, Capital Normal University, 2019
Research: Modeling and optimization of commercial buildings

xipeng_jin@knights.ucf.edu

Nasrin Bayat

Ph.D. student, Electrical Engineering (co-advised with Dr. Zhihua Qu)

Education: M.S. Electrical Engineering, Shahid Beheshti University, Iran, 2017
Research: Demand response, data analytics and optimization of smart grids

nasrinbayat@knights.ucf.edu

SIDAL Alumni

Lei Wang, M.S., 2019, currently with Florida State University.

Rahul Birari, M.S., 2017, currently with Software Motor Company.